Tag Archives: Steve White

Milliman announces Thomas D. Snook Global Health Practice Director

Milliman today announced the election of Thomas D. Snook as the firm’s Global Health Practice Director. Snook succeeds Lorraine Mayne, who is retiring after six years in the role. During Mayne’s six-year tenure, Milliman’s global health practice revenue grew by more than 60%.

“Milliman has many luminary talents, and Tom has long stood out as a leader,” says Steve White, Milliman Chief Executive Officer. “Healthcare markets are juggling constant innovation, rising costs, and more data than ever, making the work that Milliman does vitally important. Tom is the ideal person to lead us into the next decade.”  

Milliman’s health discipline employs more health actuaries that any firm in the world. In addition to actuaries, Milliman healthcare experts include technologists, clinicians, pharmacists, and public health professionals. The firm’s health professionals operate all over the world.

Snook first joined Milliman in 1988 and has served as a principal in the Phoenix office of Milliman since 1996. His clients have included managed care plans operating in commercial, ACA, and Medicaid markets, as well as provider groups taking insurance risk under value-based payment arrangements.  He graduated from Rice University in 1983 and became a Fellow of the Society of Actuaries in 1988. Tom is a frequent speaker at Society of Actuaries and other professional and industry meetings. He has been an active author and speaker on topics relating to healthcare reform.

“Milliman is the leader in healthcare financial expertise and I am excited and honored to serve in my new role,” said Snook. “When it comes to healthcare, Milliman has an unmatched combination of experience, expertise, data, and intellectual property, putting us in a rare position to help our clients address the cost and efficiency problems facing healthcare systems in the US and around the world.”

Milliman awards 16 Opportunity Scholarships in the program’s second year

Milliman is pleased to announce the recipients of this year’s Opportunity Scholarship program. This scholarship program, now in its second year, was created to assist students from ethnic groups and races that are under-represented in the fields of actuarial science, data science, computer science, economics, programming, mathematics, statistics, data analytics, or finance.

This year, the Opportunity Scholarship recipients include 16 students from colleges and universities across the United States, Australia, South Africa, and the United Kingdom who have demonstrated academic excellence and plan to pursue a career in actuarial science or related fields. Last year, which was the inaugural year of the scholarship, 12 scholarships were presented.

“Milliman is proud to assist students from diverse backgrounds in achieving their educational goals in fields like actuarial science, mathematics, computer science, and finance,” said Milliman Chief Executive Officer Steve White. “This year’s group of recipients comes from a wide array of backgrounds and has shown that they excel academically, with the drive and knowledge to succeed.”

Below is the list of this year’s Scholarship recipients:

1. Victor Asiwe, actuarial science, at University of Cape Town (South Africa)
2. Aleesha Chavez, computer science, at Northwest Nazarene University (Idaho)
3. Khethiwe Dlamini, actuarial science, at University of the Free State – Bloemfontein (South Africa)
4. Jordan Howell, actuarial science, at Kettering University (Michigan)
5. Jael Kerandi, finance, at University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
6. Rachael King, mathematics, at Macquarie University (Australia)
7. Adam Lathan, actuarial science and data analytics, at Drake University (Iowa)
8. Richard Machivenyika, actuarial science, at University of Cape Town
9. Mapule Madzena, computer science, at University of the Free State – Bloemfontein
10. Jennifer Mora-Amaya, actuarial science, at St. John’s University (New York)
11. Sonia Moreno, computer science, at Carleton College (Minnesota)
12. Sarah Peña, actuarial science, at UCLA
13. Bryce Santiago Badura, computer science, at University of Notre Dame (Indiana)
14. Ayomikun Vaughan, actuarial science, at Queen’s University of Belfast
15. Edwin Villavicencio, actuarial science, at North Central College (Illinois)
16. Mattie Zimmer, mathematics, at University of New Orleans

Five of this year’s recipients also received Opportunity Scholarships last year. Those repeat recipients are Khethiwe Dlamini, Jordan Howell, Sonia Moreno, Sarah Peña, and Ayomikun Vaughan.